Help raise awareness by contacting your State Senators and Representatives

To achieve change, we need the help of the Ohio Legislator and Governor to sponsor the Parole Reform Bill, and turn into Law!


Please contact the legislators below, briefly sharing your experience and asking to sponsor the Parole Reform Bill.  For a Sample Letter, please view below:


 

Senator John Eklund at Eklund@ohiosenate.gov phone614-466-778.

Senator McColley McColley@ohiosenate.gov
614-466-8150.

Senator Thomas Thomas@ohiosenate.gov. 614-466-8980.

Senator Lehner Lehner@ohiosenate.gov
614-466-4538.

Senator Fedor Fedor@ohiosenate.gov
614-466-5204.

Senator Huffman Huffman@ohiosenate.gov
614-466-7584.

Senator Craig Craig@ohiosenate.gov
614-466-5131.

Senator Andrew Brenner Brenner@ohiosenate.gov
614-466-8086.

Senator Kenny Yuko Yuko@ohiosenate.gov
466-7182.

Senator O’Brien SeonO’brien@ohiosenate.gov
614-466-7182.



An excellent example letter from Mildred Gonzalez-Serota

 

Sender’s Full Name 

Address Street Address 

City, State Zip


Date (3/27/19)

The Honorable Senator John Eklund  

Senate Building 1 Capitol Square, 1st Floor

Columbus, Ohio


Dear Senator Eklund:

I am writing to urge you to support the introduction and passage of a bill, sponsored by Fair Treatment Reform and Re-entry, to reform Ohio parole law. For you information, I am attaching a copy of the proposed bill, which was also distributed on February 21, 2019 during legislative-day meetings with members of the public at the Statehouse.


The proposed bill addresses significant deficiencies in the unfair policies and procedures of the Ohio Parole Board. Current parole practices have an especially harsh and dramatic impact on the thousands of people serving indeterminate life sentences in Ohio, since parole is generally the only way to obtain release for this population.


As an Ohio resident and tax payer, I recognize that continuing to incarcerate people who have proven themselves to be rehabilitated for decades makes no fiscal sense. It may also actually harm public safety, because the funds spent on continued incarceration could better be spent on post-release programs for successful reintegration into society.


I urge you, as a Senator, to work with the legislature to take up the proposed bill and help us to push forward for humane practices and procedures at parole hearings.

Please contact me with any additional questions you may have regarding this proposal.

Respectfully yours,

(Your signature)

Find out more